I have been teaching AP Lit for almost 15 years, and the test prep has always been a difficult process. Prose expresses thoroughly considered language recorded in sentences and paragraphs. Let's practice Explanation of AP Thesis Handout 1. Direct Process Analysis Thesis Statements For direct process analysis essays, the statement should inform the reader of the results they will obtain if they follow your directions carefully. Then I'll set you loose to construct one with your group. Then we'll work on one together (in groups). Note that prose includes fiction and verifiable. - may work against the literal sense of the writing - or enhance it.

True to life prose can be isolated into three kinds: portrayal, description, and exposition. “The Other Paris” Prose Analysis Mavis Gallant’s “The Other Paris” utilizes an omniscient, matter-of-fact narrative voice about Carol and Howard’s skewed view of love to illustrate that marriage is driven by convenience and fear of loneliness rather than love. For years my students felt stressed about the open question, so I created the Independent Novel Project. Techniques for Prose Analysis Assumptions of close-reading prose: 1. Through out the story the couple battles to survive the challenges given to them to live. These sample thesis statements are provided as guides, not as required forms or prescriptions. Include at least two and preferably three benefits the reader will gain. It does exclude poetry, drama, or lyrics, which are genres in themselves. The AP Prompt Blanket Question The author, (insert name), was one of the Today, I'll show you want I want you to accomplish. The formal aspects of writing - diction, sentence structure etc.